Here are services that will remain operational and suspended under the 21-day lockdown


Prime Minister Narendra Modi, in his address to the nation on Tuesday, has announced a complete 21-day lockdown across the country, in an attempt to curb the spread of the Coronavirus. However, essential service will remain operational throughout the lockdown. The Prime Minister also announced that Centre has allocated Rs 15,000 crores to strengthen the healthcare system amid the pandemic. 

As the country will be under a complete lockdown from the midnight of March 25, here is a list of all services that will remain operational and services that will be closed: 

Offices of the Government of India, its Autonomous/Subordinate offices and Public Corporations will remain closed. However, Defence, Central Armed Police Forces, treasure, public utilities (including petroleum, CNG, LPG, PNG), disaster management, power generation and transmission units, post offices, National Informatics Centre and Early Warning Agencies shall be exempted from the closure. 

Offices of the State/Union Territory Governments and their Autonomous bodies shall remain closed. The exceptions include – police, home guards, civil defence, fire and emergency services, disaster management and prisons, district administration, treasure, electricity, water, sanitation, and staff required for essential services like sanitation in all Municipal bodies. 

The order issued by the Ministry of Home Affairs states that the above exemptions shall ensure continuity of operations with minimum personnel. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *